Back to all posts

Announcing Roles and Permissions

Posted by Jake Lumetta on May 17, 2016

Today we're excited to announce roles and permissions as well as better team management features. Many of you with larger teams asked for better control over your content publishing process by enabling internal "Publishers" to have final say over what content goes live.

Roles and Permissions

To give your team maximum control over what your users can do, your ButterCMS account comes with three roles by default:

  • Admin - can do everything on an account. You'll want to use this for your developers as they deal with the content configuration that is used within your project's code.
  • Publisher - can edit, publish and delete content, but cannot manage users or configure content schemas.
  • Author - can create and edit draft content (Blog Posts, Pages, Collections) but cannot publish content live to your site.

undefined

Remove Author and Migrate Posts

Along with this update includes a new feature that allows you to remove team members and indicate which other team member should become the new author for their posts. On the team page shown above, when you click "Remove" you'll be prompted with a dialog that looks like this:

 

We hope that you enjoy these new capabilities and that they make working with larger teams a much richer experience! As always, we'd love to hear your feedback in the comments below.

 

Make sure you receive the freshest Butter product updates.
    

Related Articles